Search Articles :
Re-size text: Decrease Text Size Increase Text Size

AAMC Announces 2012–2013 Board of Directors

Friday, November 09, 2012 - Front Page -

The AAMC (Association of American Medical Colleges) today announced its new board of directors.  The board's term will run until November 2013.

Valerie N. Williams, Ph.D., M.P.A., vice provost for academic affairs and faculty development, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center (OUHSC) is the association's new chair.  She succeeds Mark R. Laret, chief executive officer of the University of California, San Francisco, Medical Center.  A. Lorris Betz, M.D., Ph.D., senior vice president emeritus of health sciences at the University of Utah, was named chair-elect and will succeed Dr. Williams next year.

In addition to the chair and chair-elect, the AAMC Board of Directors includes the AAMC president and CEO, immediate past chair, and chairs and chairs-elect of the association's three member councils—the Council of Deans, the Council of Teaching Hospitals and Health Systems, and the Council of Academic Societies.  The panel also has seven at-large members, including a medical student, a resident physician, and one "public member" not affiliated with the AAMC, a medical school, or a teaching hospital. 
Since joining the OUHSC in 1989, Dr. Williams has served in a variety of faculty development and leadership posts, including associate dean for faculty affairs in the OU College of Medicine and interim associate dean for academic programs in the OU College of Nursing.  Dr. Williams was a longtime faculty member for the AAMC's Women in Medicine and Science Professional Development Programs and a contributor to the AAMC's Minority Faculty Professional Development Program.  She is both the founder and director of the Center for Learning and Leadership/University Center for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities Education, Research, and Service, a federally funded interdisciplinary program designed to develop innovations in practice to better serve people with developmental disabilities and their families.  Dr. Williams also serves as director of the OUHSC Faculty Leadership Program, a campus-wide interprofessional faculty development and mentoring program sponsored by the OU Health Sciences Center provost and college deans.

Dr. Betz served as University of Utah (the U) senior vice president for health sciences, executive dean of the School of Medicine, and CEO of University of Utah Health Care from 1999 to 2010.  He guided the U's Health Sciences into the 21st century with a clear mission of providing world-class patient care, delivering outstanding medical education, and conducting transformative research.  During his tenure, the Health Sciences opened or expanded 12 major buildings and established University of Utah Health Care as a premier health system serving more than one million patients annually.  Through Dr. Betz's Exceptional Patient Experience initiative, University of Utah Health Care earned a national reputation as one of the nation's top academic medical centers in quality of patient care.  Twice serving as interim president of the university, Dr. Betz was an early advocate of the Utah Science Technology and Research Initiative, a state-sponsored program designed to fuel economic development, and was instrumental in the construction of a $130 million research building that opened in the spring of 2012.
# # #
The Association of American Medical Colleges is a not-for-profit association representing all 141 accredited U.S. and 17 accredited Canadian medical schools; nearly 400 major teaching hospitals and health systems, including 51 Department of Veterans Affairs medical centers; and nearly 90 academic and scientific societies. Through these institutions and organizations, the AAMC represents 128,000 faculty members, 75,000 medical students, and 110,000 resident physicians. Additional information about the AAMC and U.S. medical schools and teaching hospitals is available at

Related Articles:

No Related Content Found

Related Materials