Search Articles :
Re-size text: Decrease Text Size Increase Text Size

OU Pharmacy Professor Earns Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award

Monday, July 30, 2018 - Campus News -

Oklahoma City – Melissa Medina, Ed.D., professor and associate dean for assessment and evaluation and teacher preparation and development at the University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy, recently was honored by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy for her outstanding achievements and her overall impact on pharmacy education and the profession.
Medina was presented the Robert K. Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award July 22 during the opening session at the AACP Annual Meeting 2018 in Boston.
The award, named for the late Chalmers, former AACP president and distinguished educator, consists of a Steuben glass owl sculpture and a monetary prize. Chalmers was a champion regarding the liberalization of pharmacy education and his work helped foster dialogue and change regarding views of pharmacy education and the preparation of future pharmacists.
A faculty member since 2000, Medina has been recognized numerous times for her strengths and accomplishments over a sustained period. She was named an OUHSC Presidential Professor for the term of 2012-2015 and in April 2015 received the OU Regents’ Award for Superior Teaching.
On the OUHSC campus, Medina serves as director of the Preparing Future Faculty Program, a co-coordinator of the Educational Grand Round series, and an instructor and ardent supporter of the Faculty Leadership Program. She participated on the campus Teaching Technology Committee for many terms as well as serving as a trainer for Blackboard and D2L platforms.
JoLaine Draugalis, dean, OU College of Pharmacy, called Medina “an innovative and committed educator as well as an incredible asset to the Pharmacy profession.” She added, “Many coworkers use descriptors such as creative, engaged, enthusiastic, outstanding and intelligent when describing Dr. Medina, and I concur.”
Draugalis was presented with the same award in 1998.

Related Articles:

No Related Content Found

Related Materials